FAQ for an eRecruiter user

1. Is the process of integration with MS Teams initiated for all users at once?

Answer: No. Having received the information about initiation of the integration process from the IT department, the Administrator notifies users about it and each of them needs to connect her or his MS Teams account to eRecruiter on their own.

2. Can you disable MS Teams integration?

Answer: Yes. The System Administrator can do that in the System Settings (“Integration with eRecruiter” tab) for all users simultaneously.

Moreover, every user can disable the MS Teams account access on her or his own in the System Settings (“Your account settings” tab).

3. Does eRecruiter check whether the hour I want to arrange a meeting at is available in my calendar?

Answer: No, it doesn’t. eRecruiter is only authorized to access a link to the online meeting. It is the user’s responsibility to check whether the meeting can be arranged within a given time frame.

4. What happens if I reject a meeting or suggest a new date in MS Teams/MS Outlook?

Answer: The system will not have access to this information. Currently, MS Teams integration is unidirectional and involves only sending a link to the online meeting. If you want to cancel/modify the date of the meeting, you need to do it in the eRecruiter system.

5. What happens if I edit an online meeting in eRecruiter?

Answer: You receive a new invitation to the meeting, while MS Outlook and MS Teams update your calendars, deleting the previous event automatically and displaying the updated meeting hour.

6. What are the permissions that the eRecruiter application requests when logging in and why are they requested?

The eRecruiter application asks for two authorizations:

  • Logging in and reading your profile

    It is necessary for us to connect your eRecruiter account with the MS Teams account and for eRecruiter to display the name of your MS Teams account in the authentication settings and candidate meeting arrangement windows.

  • Reading and creating your online meetings

    It is necessary for the main functionality of the integration, i.e. the ability to arrange meetings with candidates in MS Teams via the eRecruiter system.

eRecruiter does not read or edit any meetings that have not been created by eRecruiter.

7. Why does the application ask for the “administrator’s approval” when you log in?

If you see the following message when logging in to MS Teams:

it might mean that the Office 365 administrator in your organization has withdrawn her or his consent to enable the integration with MS Teams. Ask the eRecruiter or Office 365 system administrator in your organization for assistance.

8. How do you withdraw your consent to using the eRecruiter application authorizations?

If you log out of MS Teams in eRecruiter, we delete the appropriate data and eRecruiter will not be able to arrange any new meetings and modify any online meetings that have been already arranged using the system.

Since we ask Office 365 administrators for consent, you do not need to withdraw your consent on your own, e.g. through the https://myapplications.microsoft.com/ portal. If the administrator withdraws the consent, the eRecruiter application automatically loses access to your account as well.


FAQ for the IT department

1. I am an Azure AD administrator in my company. What is this integration link sent to me by an eRecruiter user?

eRecruiter system administrators in your organization have access to the settings enabling them to choose the third-party applications the system is integrated with.

In the case of MS Teams, depending on the configuration of your Azure Active Directory tenant, the administrator (i.e. you) might need to approve the application. Therefore, for the sake of transparency, eRecruiter always asks you for consent before initiating the MS Teams integration on its side, regardless of whether it is absolutely necessary or not.

When the eRecruiter administrator attempts to enable MS Teams in the settings, a message is displayed informing that connecting with MS Teams requires the support of the corporate technical department, as well as a link to enable the integration with an explanatory description, which the administrator sent to you. The link directs to the official Microsoft domain to ask you for consent to allowing all users within a given AD tenant to integrate their Azure AD accounts with the eRecruiter account.

2. What AD configuration changes are involved in enabling access to the eRecruiter application?

Giving authorization to the eRecruiter application leads to registering an enterprise application in your Azure Active Directory tenant named “eRecruiter”.

enterprise applications

You can access the above window from the Azure main page by selecting the following options: Azure services → Azure Active Directory → Enterprise applications. In this window, you can manage the application just like any other application, including particularly deleting it.

3. What are the authorizations that the eRecruiter application requests when granting consent and why are they requested?

The eRecruiter application asks for two types of API Microsoft Graph authorizations:

  • Logging in and reading the user profile (User.Read)

    It is necessary for the users to connect their eRecruiter account with the MS Teams account and for eRecruiter to display the name of the connected MS Teams account in the authentication settings and candidate meeting arrangement windows.

  • Reading and creating user’s online meetings (OnlineMeetings.ReadWrite)

    It is necessary for the main functionality of the integration, i.e. the ability to arrange meetings with candidates in MS Teams via the eRecruiter system.

eRecruiter does not read or edit any meetings that have not been created by eRecruiter.

Granting the administrator’s consent to using both those authorizations does not mean that the eRecruiter application can act on behalf of any user in the Azure AD tenant. The requested authorizations refer to individual users, not the entire company. Every user who wants to integrate MS Teams and eRecruiter needs to connect the accounts individually to be able to arrange online meetings.

Therefore, eRecruiter does not ask for User.Read.All or OnlineMeetings.ReadWrite.All authorizations, which would enable the application to read every user profile or read/modify any online meeting within the entire Azure AD tenant.

4. What data related to MS Teams are stored by the eRecruiter application?

For the integration to work, eRecruiter stores the following data related to MS Teams:

  • Information on whether the AD administrator in a given company granted consent to the integration with eRecruiter.

  • Access tokens and refresh tokens to Azure AD accounts connecting Azure AD accounts with eRecruiter accounts and enabling the eRecruiter system to arrange online meetings in MS Teams.

When the Azure AD account is disconnected from the eRecruiter account, its saved access tokens are erased.

Similarly, when the eRecruiter system administrator disables the integration with MS Teams, the access tokens of all users from a given company registered in eRecruiter are deleted.

  • Data of meetings arranged in MS Teams through eRecruiter (including particularly access links to meetings and the username of the person who arranged the online meeting).

5. How do you withdraw your consent to the eRecruiter application operation?

Due to certain technical limitations on the part of Microsoft, disabling the integration with MS Teams in the eRecruiter system does not withdraw the Azure AD administrator’s consent to the application operation automatically. Withdrawing consent requires manual intervention in the Azure web portal.

To do this, go to Azure services → Azure Active Directory → Enterprise applications, select the eRecruiter application from the list, then select Properties from the list on the left and click Delete:

This action deletes eRecruiter from the list of enterprise applications and withdraws the consent to the use of the application by all Azure AD users connected with eRecruiter. If it is necessary, a deleted application can be restored by going through the entire integration process again.

Czy udało Ci się znaleźć odpowiedź na swoje pytanie?